Read Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol Online

Be Prepared

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost.All Vera wants to do is fit inbut thats not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Veras single mother cant afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price rangeRussian summer camp.Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol's Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship....

Title : Be Prepared
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781626724440
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » Be Prepared

Must Know Skills For Surviving The Coming Nightmare The main objective is to get people into learning and practicing these survival skills so when something cataclysmic does happen, they can better deal with and make National Hurricane Preparedness National Weather Service National Hurricane Preparedness US Dept of Commerce National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Weather Service Prepare For Emergencies Be Red Cross Ready Red Cross Getting prepared may sound difficult or time consuming but with a little help from the Red Cross its actually very doable. Are you prepared PHPR You can take steps now to help you prepare for an emergency and cope if a public health emergency, such as a natural disaster, act of terrorism, or disease outbreaks Plan and Prepared Chance favors the prepared Website designed to keep you and your loved ones safe. Hurricane Preparedness Be Ready Two keys to weather safety are to prepare for the risks and to act on those preparations when alerted by emergency officials These are essential pieces to the The Prepper s Blueprint The Step By Step Guide To The Prepper s Blueprint The Step By Step Guide To Help You Through Any Disaster Tess Pennington, Daisy Luther on FREE shipping on qualifying offers. Hurricanes Ready Hurricanes are massive storm systems that form over warm ocean waters and move toward land Potential threats from hurricanes include powerful winds, heavy rainfall Be Prepared Be Prepared Gary Greenberg, Jeannie Hayden on FREE shipping on qualifying offers An indispensable survival manual for guys entering the trenches of ReadyWake ReadyWake Wake County Emergency Management has developed the ReadyWake program to help you and your family prepare for possible disasters.

Be Prepared Reviews

  • Jessica

    Wonderful! Think Shannon Hale's REAL FRIENDS, but set at summer camp! I love Brosgol's art (she did one of my top books from last year: LEAVE ME ALONE!), and the true(ish) story of her trying to fit in and make friends, at home and at camp, was funny and heartbreaking in turns. I can't wait to see what she doesn't next!

    PS: I burned through this minutes after picking it up from the library, and then handed it to my 9yo daughter, who is absolutely riveted as well. She's a big fan of Raina Telgeme
    ...more

  • Julie Ehlers

    Be Prepared is the second graphic novel I've read by Brosgol (the first was Anya's Ghost), and I liked this one much better. Based on the author's own experiences, this is an absorbing story of a girl who has trouble fitting in and wants nothing more than to go to summer camp, but when she does go it doesn't turn out anything like she was hoping. I thought this might be humorous or even scary, but instead it's mostly sad—although there's definitely a lot of humor mixed in, the experiences Vera h ...more

  • Nat



    Summer Camp, Russian Culture, and Belonging

    Having adored Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, I was keen on checking out her spin with this gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir.

    All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

    I'
    ...more

  • Emily

    Unfortunately, the part where they chanted "tit head" at someone is going to make it far-less marketable in the community where I work.

  • Misti

    Nine-year-old Vera is excited about attending Russian camp. She’s always felt a little out of place among her friends, and hopes that a few weeks around other people of Russian heritage will help. Plus, she’s heard some great camp stories: bonfires and s’mores, hiking, ghost stories, swimming in the lake... Unfortunately, nobody told her about the bugs, and let’s not even talk about the latrines! Plus, she ends up in a tent with two mean older girls. One thing’s for sure: Vera’s not prepared for ...more

  • Jay G

    Want to see more from me? Check out my Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfer...

    Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of this in exchange for my honest review!

    Everyone Vera knows gets to go away to summer camp every year. All Vera wants is to be like the other kids in her neighbourhood. Then, one summer, her mother agrees to send her to ORRA, a Russian summer camp for children just like her! Upon arriving, Vera quickly realizes that she is not going to enjoy her time
    ...more

  • Mrs. Debraski

    I was really looking forward to reading this and it did not disappoint. There was a lot of humor here, but it really was pretty sad (to me). Poor Vera was at a camp she hated, she had trouble fitting in, longed for a friendship and nothing seemed to go right. I was fascinated by the aspects of it being a Russian camp. 

    A great book for fans of Real Friends, Smile, Sunny Side Up.

    (Don't forget to read the author's note at the end!)

  • Whitney Atkinson

    I enjoyed this! This will be a short review just because the rating speaks for itself. I have nothing particularly outstanding to say about it, but there's also nothing terrible about it. It was entertaining, but it was just okay. Maybe get it from the library instead of buying it