Read After The Shot Drops by Randy Ribay Online

After The Shot Drops

A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family in the tradition of Jason Reynolds,Matt de la Pena, and Walter Dean Myers. Bunny and Nasir have been best friends forever, but when Bunny accepts an athletic scholarship across town, Nasir feels betrayed. While Bunny tries to fit in with his new, privileged peers, Nasir spends more time with his cousin, Wallace, who is being evicted. Nasir can't help but wonder why the neighborhood is falling over itself to help Bunny when Wallace is in trouble.When Wallace makes a bet against Bunny, Nasir is faced with an impossible decisionmaybe a dangerous one.Told from alternating perspectives, After the Shot Drops is a heart-pounding story about the responsibilities of great talent and the importance of compassion....

Title : After The Shot Drops
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781328476876
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 336 pages
Url Type : Home » After » After The Shot Drops

After The Shot Drops by Randy Ribay Goodreads After The Shot Drops has ratings and reviews A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen s mission to create a better life for hi After the Shot Drops Bookin with Sunny Book Reviews AFTER THE SHOT DROPS Randy Ribay delivers a morally complex narrative in his new young adult novel After the Shot Drops follows the story of Bunny and Nasir, two teenage boys from a tough inner city neighborhood. After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribay, Hardcover The Hardcover of the After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribay at Barnes Noble FREE Shipping on or After the Shot Drops cyprusmediacenter Overview After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribay A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen s mission to create a better life for his family Written in After the Shot Drops Sticky Note Reviews the book After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribay is one I ve had my eye on for a little while I work with a number of boys who are into sports, so I m always drawn to sports Book Review After The Shot Drops by Randy Ribay Read Book Review After The Shot Drops by Randy Ribay A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen s mission to create a better life for his fam After the Shot Drops A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen s mission to create a better life for his family Written in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la After the Shot Drops IndieBound A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen s mission to create a better life for his family Written in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la After The Shot Drops by Randy Ribay Top Shelf Book After The Shot Drops by Randy Ribay ePUB Sports .MB A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen s mission to create a better life for his family in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Pena, and Walter Dean Myers. AFTER THE SHOT DROPS by Randy Ribay Kirkus Reviews Basketball provides the backdrop for a friendship pushed to its limits in this tale told from the alternating perspectives of two teen boys growing up in a tough

After The Shot Drops Reviews

  • Bee {Quite the Novel Idea}

    I want it. I want it noooow.

  • Jamie

    This book breathes basketball and it breathes life! There's so much play-by-play and color commentary I felt like I was watching each game. The alternating chapters stitch together Nasir and Bunny's perspectives and move along the fast-paced narrative. Each of the 3 main characters (Nasir, Bunny, and Wallace) navigate their neighborhood and options and futures differently; the struggle and the heartbreak is real. The end--man, I did not see that coming! The hype and lauding that's surrounding th ...more

  • Anne

    Loved this book so much and have recommended it to teachers and school administrators. With the school voucher program in full swing in many states, having students read about Bunny's experience at his private school would be so helpful. I loved how the author portrayed the biases of both groups and this would lend itself to so many great classroom discussions.

    The characters were well developed and believable. I hate when the parents in teen novels are either unbelievably mean and unreasonable o
    ...more

  • Allison Hackenmiller

    I was on the edge of my seat the whole time because I knew there had to be something coming, so all of the feelings and dilemmas were just so suspenseful to me as it built towards the climax. Thoroughly enjoyable but unsettling...lots to think about.

  • Janet Valiante

    This book was a captivating story told in two main character's POV. It was a story abour family, friendship and loyalty as well as basketball. It showed the differences in each of the main character's lives and the constant struggles the characters had to go through on a daily basis. How far would you go to save a friendship? This book will appeal to all readers especially YA and basketball enthusiasts.

  • Laura Mauro

    *I got this book for review from Net galley*

    I really enjoyed this book. I loved how this book was told from two boys POV and how it really focused on their friendship and how it changed over the course of the novel. It was such a impactful novel and it was super hard to put down. I thought the racial elements in this book was super well done and it was handled so well. I loved how sports was used to increase tension in this novel. I was equally invested in both POVS and loved the cast of charact
    ...more

  • Sandy O'Brien

    “Why does one person’s win always mean another person’s loss? Maybe it doesn’t have to. Maybe it’s time for me to do right by both my friends, not just one.”

    The alternating POVs and the fact that it was about basketball pulled me in from the beginning. The underlying story and inner struggles of the characters is what kept me reading.

    Just beware that if you start this book that you need time to finish it in a sitting.

  • Cynthia

    This was a good yalit read and would be especially good for young men who don't necessarily enjoy reading. It was high interest and engaging and explores how young men navigate making decisions which aren't popular, but absolutely necessary and how those decisions impact their close social circle emotionally.