Read Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark T. Sullivan Online

Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young mans incredible courage and resilience during one of historys darkest hours. Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. Hes a normal Italian teenagerobsessed with music, food, and girlsbut his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.In an attempt to protect him, Pinos parents force him to enlist as a German soldiera move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitlers left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reichs most mysterious and powerful commanders.Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love....

Title : Beneath a Scarlet Sky
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781503943377
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 513 pages
Url Type : Home » Beneath » Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Beneath a Scarlet Sky Mark Sullivan Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man s incredible courage and resilience during one of Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan Book Club BENEATH A SCARLET SKY is a work of historical fiction As you were reading did you feel that the story was authentic Given that the truth about what actually Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel Barnes Noble Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man s incredible courage and resilience during one of Pascal Pictures Lands Beneath A Scarlet Sky For Tom Pascal Pictures Lands Beneath A Scarlet Sky For Tom Holland Tom Holland to Star in WWII Spy Movie Beneath a Scarlet Spider Man Homecoming star Tom Holland will tackle Beneath a Scarlet Sky, a WWII spy thriller adapting a fact based novel. Beneath A Scarlet Sky Book Review Arlene s Book Club Beneath A Scarlet Sky Book Review By Dinh Synopsis Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis He s a normal Italian teenager obsessed with music Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel by Mark Sullivan Reading Informative, Dramatic, Adventurous, BookMovement s reading guide includes discussion questions, plot summary, reviews and ratings and suggested discussion questions Plugged In Plugged In reviews movies, videos, music, TV and games from a Christian perspective We re shining a light on the world of popular entertainment. Erza Scarlet Fairy Tail Wiki FANDOM powered by Wikia Erza Scarlet Eruza Suk retto is an S Class Mage of the Fairy Tail Guild, wherein she is a member of Team Natsu She also served as U Tabs , Tabs Total Tabs Accurate U guitar, bass, drum, piano, guitar pro and power tabs at Tabs.Com tabs search engine

Beneath a Scarlet Sky Reviews

  • Elisabeth

    The story of Pino Lella is amazing. The writing of Mark Sullivan is dreadful. It reads like it was written by a sixth grader, full of cliches and bad metaphors. I brought this book on vacation and was so excited to read it based on the description on the back cover. What a disappointment.

  • Liz

    This is a fascinating book about WWII in Italy. I’ve read so much about Northern Europe during the war, but this is the first book about what took place in Italy. It follows the story of a real life teenager, beginning in 1943 when he guides Jews over the mountain pass to Switzerland and through the events that have him end up as a spy for the Allies.

    The story is well told and engaging. The characters seem real. Too often, historical characters come across as wooden or two dimensional, as if th
    ...more

  • Mary (Marbear)

    This book ranks right up there with "The Nightingale," and "All the Light We Can Not See." I think it surpasses them. The book is about Pino, a 17 year-old boy in Italy during the German War. This book will make you love and hate the characters. You will fall in love with Pino and his family. He lives through things no 17 year-old boy should have to witness. The characters will stay with you long after you turn the last page. Well done Mr. Sullivan. Buy this book.

  • Julie

    A stunning novel about being brave in the face of evil. Finding happiness when you think it's been taken from you and remembering that each day is a gift.

    The Italian side of WWII isn't something that historical fiction novelist focus on but there are stories to be told about what happened there. The fact this this story is part biography and part fiction is what makes it brilliant. Pino Lella is a true hero and one that everyone should know. Real people make real differences and he proves it.

    If
    ...more

  • Jonathan Isakoff

    This book brought me to tears

    This is far and away one of the best books ever on Kindle First. It's a riveting story of love and righteousness. I won't give away more than that. If you want to know the perspective of an Italian during World War II, this is worth the read.

  • Beverly

    Although I read it quickly, Beneath a Scarlet Sky did not live up to the beauty of its cover. This was recommended to me so that's mostly why I finished it. I should not have read my Goodreads friends' reviews because they were very critical.

    One reason they were, which I think is the most damning is that although it's purported to be the true life story of Pino Lella, a hero of WW 2, there is little supporting evidence for his story and some of the incidents the author reports seem unlikely to
    ...more

  • Philip

    2ish stars.

    Based on the experiences of Pino Lella, an unsung WWII hero, the events at the heart of this book are incredible and inspiring. Sullivan, though obviously well-meaning, presents them here in what is more or less a bloated, commercialized, color-by-number hagiography.

    Somehow present at just about as many significant events during WWII as one can be, Pino deftly overcomes every obstacle in his path. While - again - incredible and inspiring, there's not much in the way of tension or susp
    ...more

  • LeAnne

    My 14 year old is a military history buff, and I'm pretty sure he will enjoy this simple work of historical fiction set in WWII Italy. Me? Not so much.

    GOOD STUFF: I learned that groups of Italians - loosely organized by priests and archbishops of the Catholic church - were active in smuggling Jewish refugees over the Alps and into Switzerland to keep them out of the Nazi reach. Getting a feel for the timeline of the German presence in Italy and how it was marked by milestones of Allied advancem
    ...more