Read The Sky at Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi Online

The Sky at Our Feet

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, its hard to feel American now when hes terrified that his mother will be discoveredand that they will be separated.When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if hes overestimated what he can do.After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungleeven though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they wont be able to run forever....

Title : The Sky at Our Feet
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062421951
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Sky at Our Feet

The Sky at Our Feet The Sky at Our Feet Nadia Hashimi on FREE shipping on qualifying offers This ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Watch Sky The South Bank Sky Arts Awards click to open detail panel Sponsored by Dinner in the Sky The sky is the limit for your dinner party, meeting, or other special event See why Dinner in the Sky is the most unique event you will ever plan. The Earth under Sky Bear s Feet Native American The Earth under Sky Bear s Feet Native American Poems of the Land Joseph Bruchac on FREE shipping on qualifying offers A thoughtful collection that Skydeck Chicago Welcome to the Ledge Step outside the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere At , feet in the air, the Ledge s glass boxes extend out . feet from the Red Sky Performance Red Sky Performance acknowledges our creative home on the sacred and traditional territories of the Anishinabek, Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation Sky Telescope Astronomy News, Tools Resources Sky Tel covers the latest night sky events, astronomy news, astrophotography and observing tips Also browse our video podcast guides to tonight s sky. SpaceWeather News and information about Every night, a network of NASA all sky cameras scans the skies above the United Sky Events Sky Events is approved by German Safety Standards and is TUV certified It also includes the following safety achievements Department of Labour certification Caledonian Sky Kimberley Cruise Centre Welcome aboard Caledonian Sky Featuring just suites, the MS Caledonian Sky is perfectly suited to small group expeditions, while personalised attention is assured

The Sky at Our Feet Reviews

  • Marathon County Public Library MCPL

    When two men, who do not look like customers, start talking to his mother at work in New Jersey, Jason is terrified that his mother will be sent back to Afghanistan since she is not a U.S citizen. Remaining hidden he watches the frightening scene unfold, and when he finally sees his mother riding away with these men, he knows he has to flee and try to locate his aunt in New York City. The problem is he doesn’t have much money, a cell phone, a phone number for her, or even a complete address, and

    ...more

  • Richie Partington

    Richie’s Picks: THE SKY AT OUR FEET by Nadia Hashimi, HarperCollins, March 2018, 304p., ISBN: 978-0-06-242193-7

    “That very night in Max’s room a forest grew

    and grew--

    and grew until his ceiling hung with vines

    and the walls became the world all around”

    --Maurice Sendak, from Where the Wild Things Are, as painted on an outdoor stairway at the Central Park Zoo

    “‘I fall behind in school,’ my mom explains, continuing the story. ‘They sent me letters. I tried to explain I need time. You were so small and
    ...more

  • Abbie Koshy

    Wow! This book was so good! It has a lot of determination. To hop on a train, talk to the police, get a concussion with no one there to help and guide you? That's what I can determination.

  • Shoshana

    While I didn't find this as fully engaging and enveloping as "One Half from the East," I did enjoy it - Jason's voice is distinct and strong, and it manages to be a book about a serious topic without being about the serious topic. Jason's adventure through New York is fun and suspenseful, even though it's in a scary context.

    Even moreso, I think the Issue (immigration, particularly illegal immigration) is so well addressed, so well built into the story - it IS the story, but this never feels lik
    ...more

  • Sandra Pyeatt

    This middle grade novel by Afghani-American Nadia Hashimi explores timely themes of immigration and being American as well as the timeless one of the search for identity. Jason navigates many adventures on his journey through NYC to be reunited with his mother. Along the way he connects with Max, a girl in search of her own adventures before undergoing surgery. There’s a lot to like in the novel but it feels like the author tried to pack in a few too many discussion points, making it a little he ...more

  • Kristin Crouch

    Thank you to Nadia Hashimi and Harper Collins for providing #collabookation an ARC of The Sky at Our Feet to share and review.

    Jason D learned a month ago that his mother is an ‘illegal alien’ in the US. Then he sees her taken from her job and put into the back of a car by two uniformed men. Suddenly, he's alone.

    No longer able to enjoy his mother’s care and comfort, Jason must face many harsh realities in his run across New York City to find his Aunt Seema. She is the only other person in the U
    ...more

  • Sarah

    I received this through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    Jason D and his mother fled from tumultuous Afghanistan to America. While he was born in America, his mother is living in the US illegally. When Jason's mother is taken by the feds, Jason runs away and attempts to find his aunt in New York City. Along the way, Jason gets knocked unconscious and finds himself in a hospital, where he meets a fellow patient Max. The two escape the hospital in order to find Jason's aunt.

    I thought t
    ...more

  • MS

    I really like Nadia Hashimi's books. The sky at our feet was a great book, focused on Jason D. and his life as a boy who's parents are from Afghanistan but was born in America. Jason struggles with identity, not knowing if he is an Afghan-american, just afghan and a bunch of other combinations. This is a great action filled adventure through New York about a boy struggling with his identity.