Read The Sky at Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi Online

The Sky at Our Feet

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, its hard to feel American now when hes terrified that his mother will be discoveredand that they will be separated.When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if hes overestimated what he can do.After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungleeven though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they wont be able to run forever....

Title : The Sky at Our Feet
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062421951
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Sky at Our Feet

Watch Sky Star Wars The Last Jedi click to open detail panel Shades of Blue Sky Broadband Talk Choose from Sky Broadband Sky Broadband Fibre Sky Broadband Fibre With no usage caps and UK average download speeds of Mb, our unlimited broadband is ideal for browsing the internet and Dinner in the Sky The sky is the limit for your dinner party, meeting, or other special event See why Dinner in the Sky is the most unique event you will ever plan. Skydeck Chicago Welcome to the Ledge Step outside the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere At , feet in the air, the Ledge s glass boxes extend out . feet from the This futuristic jet pack lets users fly up to , feet A daily newsletter charting the future From technology to the scientific breakthroughs changing our lives. Sky Tavern Sky Tavern Since Sky Tavern Junior Ski Program is the oldest and largest volunteer run ski school in the United States. Big Sky Resort, Montana The Biggest Skiing in America and Basecamp to Yellowstone Visit Big Sky Resort located in Big Sky, MT Year round destination resort with activities for the whole Kim Kardashian s swollen feet are severely pinched as The stiletto loving reality star tottered out in a pair of perspex high heels on Thursday, and while she didn t show any pain, her feet did all of the talking. SpaceWeather News and information about Noctilucent Clouds Our connection with NASA s AIM spacecraft has been restored New images from AIM show that the southern season for noctilucent clouds NLCs is Flat Earther s steam powered rocket lofts him , feet Flat Earther Mad Mike Hughes, self taught rocket man, blasts himself off , feet into California sky

The Sky at Our Feet Reviews

  • Simran (poetry.and.tea)

    The Sky At Our Feet is a story about a young boy Jason D, and his mother who had fled Afghanistan after his father's death and now are living in America as immigrants. Written from Jason's point of view its about his adventures or should I say misadventures when he finds out that his mum is can be sent to Afghanistan by the immigration officers and police.

    The story is about a delicate yet very poignant issue and gives the readers a peek into the lives of immigrants to gain a better perspective
    ...more

  • Shoshana

    While I didn't find this as fully engaging and enveloping as "One Half from the East," I did enjoy it - Jason's voice is distinct and strong, and it manages to be a book about a serious topic without being about the serious topic. Jason's adventure through New York is fun and suspenseful, even though it's in a scary context.

    Even moreso, I think the Issue (immigration, particularly illegal immigration) is so well addressed, so well built into the story - it IS the story, but this never feels lik
    ...more

  • Bethany

    When Jason sees his mother being taken away, his world is turned upside down and he's overcome by fear of what's to come next. His mom has been living in the US illegally and had an idea that something like this would happen. The backup plan has always been for Jason to find his aunt in New York City, but the trip isn't easy.

    When Jason falls and hits his head, he fakes amnesia to get out of telling the hospital staff and the cops who he really is. Here, he meets Max. She's the first person he te
    ...more

  • Melinda

    Action-packed, character-driven middle grade fiction with a social conscience! I loved the twists and turns of Jason's journey, along with the optimism created by a cast of ultimately helpful, caring adults.

  • Maywoodbooks

    Timely story and I did like it but I wasn't blown away by the narrative. It seemed a bit predictable... I liked the concept and I loved the perspective but it failed a little bit for me...

  • Sara Ahmed

    A very sweet book! Very quick read and shows how someone who grew up here does not truly understand how someone who came here and doesnt have papers, truly lives. Incredibly heart touching.

  • Kristin Crouch

    Thank you to Nadia Hashimi and Harper Collins for providing #collabookation an ARC of The Sky at Our Feet to share and review.

    Jason D learned a month ago that his mother is an ‘illegal alien’ in the US. Then he sees her taken from her job and put into the back of a car by two uniformed men. Suddenly, he's alone.

    No longer able to enjoy his mother’s care and comfort, Jason must face many harsh realities in his run across New York City to find his Aunt Seema. She is the only other person in the U
    ...more