Read The Oracle Year by Charles Soule Online

The Oracle Year

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the futureperfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Siteas it's come to be calledand the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trustincluding a beautiful journalistit's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next....

Title : The Oracle Year
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062686657
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Oracle Year

Oracle Java SE Support Roadmap Oracle provides this updated roadmap for Oracle Java SE products Oracle Java SE Advanced, Oracle Java SE Advanced Desktop and Oracle Java InterRel Oracle Business Analytics, Consulting EPM interRel Consulting, reigning Oracle Titan Award Winner for EPM BI Solution of the Year, proudly announces that Oracle has named interRel Consulting an Oracle Welcome Oracle Community Change your display name Log into Oracle Community Click on the drop down arrow next to your name in the upper right corner In the Actions list on your profile Oracle Corporation Wikipedia Oracle Corporation is an American multinational computer technology corporation, headquartered in Redwood Shores, California The company specializes primarily in IT Training and Certification for Oracle Technology Oracle University offers classroom, online training courses and certifications Enroll in database training, PeopleSoft training and . How do I get the current year using SQL on Oracle I need to add the current year as a variable in an SQL statement, how can I retrieve the current year using SQL i.e BETWEEN TO_DATE currentYear ORCL Oracle Corp Stock quote CNNMoney Next reporting date June , EPS forecast this quarter . Annual revenue last year .B Annual profit last year .B Net profit margin Oracle bone Wikipedia A Shang dynasty oracle bone from the Shanghai Museum Chinese Literal meaning Shells and bones Transcriptions Standard Mandarin Hanyu Pinyin Ji g The Oracle Year by Charles Soule Book of the Month Book of the Month is the best way to discover and read the best new books each month Join today OracleVoice Oracle s Global Startup Program Lessons A year ago, Oracle announced the global expansion of its Startup Cloud Accelerator program to a total of eight locations, building on the success of an

The Oracle Year Reviews

  • Tracy Fleming-Swehla

    This book didn't read like a sci-fi book to me, and because of it being categories as sci-fi I almost didn't read it. But I'm glad I did!

    What would you do if you had a dream that outlined 100+ very specific events, and you soon discover these events are coming true as time goes on...you can kind of tell the future. Would you use that information to take over the world? To make money? To become the evil overlord? To try to avoid bad things happening?

    This story is such a fabulous struggle of good
    ...more

  • Hannah Bierwirth

    This book is exactly what I thought it would be - a fun and fast-paced ride that reads just like you’d think a book by a comic book writer would. It is action packed, with big plot twists and dramatic peaks and valleys, throwing together international world affairs, politics, technology (and the Dark Web), and religion. It’s an inventive take on questions about our fate versus our actions. Where the book falls short is character development. While the diverse set of characters and perspectives ...more

  • Kelsey

    Well friends, I finally won a book giveaway! No, not through Goodreads, though I persist. No, I won this one at ECCC! My friend Oscar picked up a chapter sampler of Oracle Year as we went by, while I hadn't even realized we'd gone by Charles Soule because it was so packed. I saw a few aisles over that he had it, and went back to pick one up myself. Charles Soule asked if I wanted to sign up for the giveaway, and I said, "why not?"

    Next morning, an email: "You've won!" I was over-the-moon, let me
    ...more

  • Mogsy (MMOGC)

    4 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2018/04/12/...

    What a fascinating novel. And to think I almost passed this one up, but every now and then I like to step out of my comfort zone to read something “outside my box”, and books like The Oracle Year make me glad that I do.

    The story follows a struggling bassist named Will Dando who wakes up one morning from a dream, his head filled with 108 predictions about the future. Enlisting the help of his friend Hamza, Will proceeds to
    ...more

  • Jena

    "Anything can happen, Will Dando thought. In the next five seconds, in the next five years. Anything at all."

    One morning Will Dando woke up with 108 predictions ringing loudly in his mind. They were specific, and seemed to make no real sense. He wasn't even sure it was real. Except he couldn't get them out of his head. Then they started coming true.

    Armed with this random knowledge, he sets up an impenetrable website calling himself The Oracle. Suddenly, Will Dando is no longer a nameless struggl
    ...more

  • Billie

    If it's done well, sometimes it's okay to leave a few questions unanswered and Soule did it very well. The "who" and the "why" were ultimately far less important than Will's journey.

    And, yes, I know that tells you fuck-all about the book itself, but you can read the synopsis and anything more I could say would be inadequate in describing it. If you enjoyed Dark Matter or All Our Wrong Todays or are a fan of Mr. Soule's comics work, you'll probably enjoy this book. It starts out as one thing, but
    ...more

  • Stephanie

    Thanks to Harper Perennial for sending me a copy in exchange for a review!

    After reading Middlemarch (and being blown away, oh my goodness it was so GOOD), I decided to read something that was the complete opposite. On that count, this book delivered! This is a fast paced, snappy speculative fiction thriller. An average New Yorker wakes up with precisely 108 predictions about the future. He does what any of us might do: test to see if they're real, try to change the bad ones, set up super secure
    ...more

  • Anna W.

    Following much the same style as Michael Crichton, Blake Crouch, and Noah Hawley, Soule keeps readers flipping pages and searching for answers long after they (or maybe just me) should go to sleep.

    Based on the premise that a man, struggling musician Will Dando, receives 108 future predictions—some mundane and some world-altering—The Oracle is created. After receiving the predictions and realizing they’re true, they actually happen, Will sets up the Site to share the predictions with the world.
    ...more