Read The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury Online

The Wild Inside

A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Chris Bohjalian, and Mary Kubica.A natural born trapper and hunter raised in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with her dogs in the remote forests surrounding her familys home. Though she feels safe in this untamed land, Tracy still follows her late mothers rules: Never Lose Sight of the House. Never Come Home with Dirty Hands. And, above all else, Never Make a Person Bleed.But these precautions arent enough to protect Tracy when a stranger attacks her in the woods and knocks her unconscious. The next day, she glimpses an eerily familiar man emerge from the tree line, gravely injured from a vicious knife wounda wound from a hunting knife similar to the one she carries in her pocket. Was this the man who attacked her and did she almost kill him? With her memories of the events jumbled, Tracy cant be sure.Helping her father cope with her mothers death and prepare for the approaching Iditarod, she doesnt have time to think about what she may have done. Then a mysterious wanderer appears, looking for a job. Tracy senses that Jesse Goodwin is hiding something, but she cant warn her father without explaining about the attackor why shes kept it to herself.It soon becomes clear that something dangerous is going on . . . the way Jesse has wormed his way into the family . . . the threatening face of the stranger in a crowd . . . the boot-prints she finds at the forests edge.Her family is in trouble. Will uncovering the truth protect themor is the threat closer than Tracy suspects?...

Title : The Wild Inside
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062742018
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Wild Inside

Wild Luxury Norfolk UK Glamping Beach Holidays Glamping Norfolk Beach Holidays with the Original Norfolk Wild Glamping Company luxury seaside camping by the sea on the north Norfolk Coast in East Anglia, England Are These the Best Cookies Ever Fans Are Going Wild Are These the Best Cookies Ever Fans Are Going Wild for Salted Butter Chocolate Chunk Shortbread Cookies Wild Yeast Notes from my kitchen, in which I bake Notes from my kitchen, in which I bake bread and raise a few other matters The Wild Heretic When you have eliminated all which Hello to all new and old readers I ve put together a new fully functioning forum linked to the Wild Heretic Blog, but it isn t a part of the WordPress design. The Best Free Wild Mature Porn Video Galleries at Wild Wild Mature Porn Free Mature Porn Mature Sex, Mature Porn, Wild Matures. WILD Cheryl Strayed This web site is maintained by Cheryl Strayed, the author of Wild, Tiny Beautiful Things, Torch and Brave Enough. Animals National Geographic Your home for all things animals on National Geographic. Wild Madagascar In an assessment of freshwater plant and animal species living on Madagascar and nearby islands, biologists found that percent are threatened with extinction Rosehips Wildfoodsandmedicines Rose hips glow like rubies in the fading colors of autumn They are red to orange colored, round and fleshy pregnant with a belly of seeds These tiny jewels Huge Dildo and Sex Toys at Dildo N SexToys Huge Dildo and Sex Toys like Lesbian Dildo Scenes, Brutal Dildo, Sex Toys Anal Dildo

The Wild Inside Reviews

  • Hollowspine

    This is a tough book to pin down. Is it a realistic family drama set in the Alaskan wilderness? Is it horror? Is it bildungsroman?

    As I read I kept going back and forth trying to decide whether or not the main character, Tracy, was some sort of supernatural creature, or just someone with an untreated mental health disorder. In the end I personally decided that she did have some supernatural ability, one that alienated her from her family and in the end from humanity in general.

    The plot basically
    ...more

  • ashley | citygirlscapes

    Originally posted on citygirlscapes.com.

    I’m inevitably drawn to books about the wild, nature, wolves and the like. The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury spoke to me before I even knew what the book was about. It sounded like a mix of a few different genres, so I really didn’t know what I was getting into.

    The voice in this book takes a bit getting used to; at first it was a bit dominating and overwhelmed the rest of the story. But it’s also a vital component of the character and it does, somewhat, g
    ...more

  • Will Byrnes

    I learned in school that blood has a memory. It carries information that makes you who you are. That’s how my brother and me ended up with so much in common, we both carried inside us the things our parents’ blood remembered. Sharing what’s in the blood, that’s as close as you can be to another person.
    …I spent as much time as I could in the woods. To look at me, you might of thought, But you are only seventeen, and a girl, you have got no business being off in the wild by yourself where a bea
    ...more

  • Jessica Higgins

    A stunning debut novel that you will either love or hate.

    Tracy Petrikoff is a natural when it comes to hunting and trapping. Growing up in the Alaskan wilderness and the daughter of a famous dog sled musher who won multiple Iditarod’s, it only made sense that she follow in his footsteps. And she does, right up until her mother dies. Things for her dad start to fall apart after that, including dog sled racing. But Tracy is determined to get back on a sled to race. One day while in the woods near
    ...more

  • Laura Chase

    It was amazing. I had a hard time putting down. (I read it durring my lunch breaks at work). I kept thinking that Jamey Bradbury is a Jean Craighead George (Julie of the Wolves) except geared towards adults rather than YA. I really got intrigued in how Tracy came to turns with the fact that she's part wolf.

  • Carol

  • Carrie Ardoin

    The first half of this book was great to me, which is why it's such a shame that the second half veered off so weirdly that I ended up having to give a less than stellar review.

    Tracy Petrikoff lives in rural Alaska with her father and brother after the death of her mother a few years prior. The family raises sled dogs, and in past years Tracy's father Bill has run the Iditarod and done pretty well at it. So, dogs and racing are in 17 year old Tracy's blood...but so is something else.

    Ever since
    ...more

  • Bentley ★ Bookbastion.net

    See this review and more like it on my blog: www.bookbastion.net!

    ________

    I came across The Wild Inside when browsing Edelweiss for advance review copies. I've grown very particular over the last year about what I'll request from publishers, as time seems to be a commodity that I have less and less of lately. I was drawn this debut offering from Jamey Bradbury and William Morrow in part because of the gorgeous cover, and literary fiction infused with horror and fantasy elements seemed quite intri

    Is Tracy damaged by her past? Absolutely.

    Is she struggling to find her place in a changed world as a young adult. Yup.

    Is she a supernatural being, or is she delusional?




    I'm less sure about the answer to that last question. Unfortunately the story never takes the time to pin down a satisfying answer. The result is that the story frequently becomes bogged down by strange interludes - dark passages that don't really make much sense and are never clarified in the scope of what it means for Tracy, and how it began. I'm choosing to remain intentionally vague here as I hate spoilers, but I will say that Tracy's entire existence comes to revolve around her need to engage this fantastical element and it really made me dislike her as a character.

    She never questions the sanity of what she's doing. She makes a number of leaps of logic that ultimately end up hurting other people a great deal because of it, and yet she never considers stopping. Her ardent fear towards the antagonist of the story really suffered in the face of this because I always considered Tracy a completely unreliable narrator. I was awaiting some massive twist in which this level of distrust would be used to inform on why nothing is ever explained, but it never comes.

    As frustrated as I was by the lack of explanation given, there was still a great deal to love about this novel. I think for a debut outing it's quite strong. The characters aside from Tracy were rather well defined, with distinct backstories that are delivered over the course of the story. Some of them were a bit more strongly constructed than others, but for the most part they felt real and well developed as people.

    I'll be excited to see how Bradbury's work expands moving forward. I think she shows a great deal of promise as a young author, and will be interested to see how her works shift into either clear literary fiction or a more dedicated fantasy/horror focus in the future.

    3 out of 5 stars ...more