Read The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani Online

The Night Diary

It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders. Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together....

Title : The Night Diary
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780735228511
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 272 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Night Diary

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani The Night Diary Veera Hiranandani on FREE shipping on qualifying offers In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life Diary Of A Night Watchman AsianWiki Profile Drama Diary Of A Night Watchman English title Night Watchman s Journal literal title Revised romanization Yagyungkkoonilji Hangul Last Night I Dreamed of Peace The Diary Last Night I Dreamed of Peace The Diary of Dang Thuy Tram Dang Thuy Tram Books Public Events Diary Polti House Allocated Blue Badge Parking to the front of the house Wheelchair access to the house and cafe Grounds access dependent on the weather Adapted toilet to rear of Welcome to Doug s Dirt Diary Wednesday, May th New on the Audio Page for today Billy Whittaker recapped his opening night at Fulton and talked about the need to learn his . Illustrator Tutorial Starry night Vector Diary Learn to draw stars in Adobe Illustrator I will be showing you the quickest way to create fast random stars using Transform Each Illustrator effect You will be able Baroda Events Diary Photoract A photography competition followed by a grand exhibition of best pictures from both categories at MS University Fine Arts Hall. Carters Diary Carters Steam Fair diary find out where we will be this weekend The night I had to choose between Russell Crowe and I t was a warm night in Newcastle and the theatre was filling up with excited Jimmy Barnes fans who had tickets to see his new show a spoken word performance Chen San Ding Best Bubble Milk Drink In Taipei Taipei Chen San Ding has been widely reviewed to be the best bubble milk drink in Taipei It is located near Gonguan Night Market, an area

The Night Diary Reviews

  • Laura Gardner

    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 for THE NIGHT DIARY by @VeeraWrites. Thanks to the publisher, @PenguinKids for the ARC for @Kidlitexchange. All opinions are my own.

    _*_*_*_*_*

    Nisha, a twelve year old twin who loves to cook and is exceptionally quiet, faces great challenges when she and her family become refugees and must flee the only life they've ever known. It's 1947 and Indian has been freed from British rule, but has also been divided into two countries. Nisha, her twin Amil, her father, and her elderly grandmother
    ...more

  • Ms. Yingling

    E ARC from Edelweiss Plus

    On the eve of the Partitioning of India in 1947, Nisha is struggling to understand the implications of the end of British rule on her half-Hindu, half-Muslim family, and writes diary entries to the mother who passed away when she and her twin brother Amil were born in order to process events. Her father, a Hindu doctor, feels that the family must leave their town, which has ended up as an area designated to be Muslim. Long time family cook Kazi is Muslim (as was Nisha's
    ...more

  • Rashika (is tired)

    The book I FUCKING DESERVE.

  • Lisa

    Nisha and her family are forced to leave their home because of conflict as India splits into two countries, India and Pakistan, after gaining its independence from Britain. The story is told by Nisha as she writes letters to her mother who died giving birth to her and her twin brother. Nisha's letters show her confusion about what is happening in her country, her wish for things to stay as they are, and her longing for her mother. My heart broke in places and I was moved in others. The author gi ...more

  • Richie Partington

    Richie’s Picks: THE NIGHT DIARY by Veera Hiranandani, Dial, March 2018, 272p., ISBN: 978-0-7352-2851-1

    “I think Islam hates us. There’s something there that — there’s a tremendous hatred there. There’s a tremendous hatred. We have to get to the bottom of it. There’s an unbelievable hatred of us.”

    -- Donald J. Trump, 3/9/16, on CNN

    “If I had ever been here before

    On another time around the wheel

    I would probably know just how to deal

    With all of you”

    -- David Crosby “Déjà Vu,” 1970

    July 21, 1947

    Dear Mama
    ...more

  • K.C

    It was soo good, even though there was a little violence.

  • Beth Bryden-miller

    Written from the perspective of a 12 year old girl during the 1947 India/Pakistan partition in diary form. I wish it had been written in a different form, by using the diary form, there is a separation between the protagonist and the reader. I felt like the written wasn't vivid enough to carry the intensity of the setting.

  • Katy

    The Night Diary's beautiful and heartbreaking story about refugees during the partition of India could not have been released at a more relevant time. I especially loved that the main characters were “half Muslim and half Hindu” which highlighted the fraught mental and physical circumstances stemming from this complicated identity. This is a wonderful middle grade novel that I hope children will read in schools.