Read The Past Is Never by Tiffany Quay Tyson Online

The Past Is Never

A compelling addition to contemporary Southern Gothic fiction, deftly weaving together local legends, magical realism, and the search for a missing child.Siblings Bert, Willet, and Pansy know better than to go swimming at the old rock quarry. According to their father, it's the devil's place, a place that's been cursed and forgotten. But Mississippi Delta summer days are scorching hot and they can't resist cooling off in the dark, bottomless water. Until the day six-year-old Pansy disappears. Not drowned, not lost . . . simply gone.After years with no sign, no hope of ever finding Pansy alive, Bert and Willet have tried to move on. But as surely as their mother died of a broken heart, they can't let go. So when clues surface drawing them to the remote tip of Florida, they drop everything and drive south. Deep in the murky depths of the Florida Everglades they may find the answer to Pansy's mysterious disappearance . . . but truth, like the past, is sometimes better left where it lies.Perfect for fans of Flannery O'Connor and Dorothy Allison, The Past Is Never is an atmospheric, haunting story of myths, legends, and the good and evil we carry in our hearts....

Title : The Past Is Never
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781510726826
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Past Is Never

SQA NQ Past papers and marking instructions Specimen question papers are available for National , Higher and Advanced Higher qualifications Exemplar question papers are available for Higher and Advanced Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System Welcome to CPARS CPARS hosts a suite of web enabled applications that are used to document contractor and grantee performance information that is required by Federal Pastpaper Crinkley Bottom Books do we purchase old magazines birthday anniversaries magazines program for investment firms check out our current ebay auctions what our customers are saying America s past of human experiments revealed Health Attitude similar to Nazi experiments Some of these studies, mostly from the s to the s, apparently were never covered by news media Others were reported at United States Geological Survey USGS Earthquakes USGS Earthquake Hazards Program, responsible for monitoring, reporting, and researching earthquakes and earthquake hazards Mind Blowing Search Engine Optimization Stats This post brings together all the SEO statistics you need to know organic traffic, industry spending and value, search behavior, Google, and . Congo s Never Ending War The New York Times Congo has become a never ending nightmare, one of the bloodiest conflicts since World War II, with than five million dead It seems incomprehensible The Best Broadway Musical Songs of the Past Years What is the modern American musical theater What are its best songs When does it even most properly begin Must we now divide everything into Before Hamilton The Most Insane Medical Practices in History Cracked Cracked s new book is now on sale What follows is one of classic articles that appear in the book, along with new articles that you can t read anywhere Seventh day Adventist Philosophy of Music Past and Voted, That the following guidelines or a Seventh day Adventist Philosophy of Music be adopted The Seventh day Adventist Church has come into existence in

The Past Is Never Reviews

  • McCaid Paul

    *5 stars*

    Just read the book. There is nothing more to say. A review can't do this justice. This might just change your life.

  • Mary Beth *Traveling Sister*



    On a hot summer day, Bert, Willet, and Pansy went swimming swimming in the quarry in Missippi Delta.

    They were not allowed to swim there since it was known to be cursed. Their father always told them that it was evil, the devil's place. Bert and Willet wander off and when they come back, Pansy has disappeared. Not drowned, not lost... simply gone. Pansy is only 6 years old. They keep looking and hunting for her. They looked years for her. They were Pansy's brother and sister. Their mother died o
    ...more

  • Diane S ☔

    Southern Gothic takes us to the Mississippi Delta and a quarry said to be evil, cursed. Three siblings told to give a berth to this quarry, instead it becomes a place they regularly go to swim. Something horrible happened here in the past, bug the past is never, it is carried inside the person or inside a place that has seen the evil of man. Something terrible happens on this the three siblings last day, and changes their lives forevermore.

    Fantastic characters, all terribly flawed as the most in
    ...more

  • Beth

    Well written with different stories that merge together

  • Sandra Bond

    SUCH a GOOD book!! Southern fiction at its best. I hope everyone reads this beautiful story!

  • Bri Little

    This novel was exceptionally written. I really enjoyed it.

    Four stars because I felt unsettled by the Black/Seminole historical parts being written by a white woman, and because there were too many sexual assault scenes.

  • Marialyce

    4+ to a "quite a story" story!

    This was a fascinating tale of family and the concept that family does not always mean blood. This tale brought together many characters chief among them were: Bert, Willet, and Pansy. The children, as well as their parents, were attracted to an old rock quarry where legends, folktales, and Gothic fiction seem to abide. The children in an attempt to cool off on a hot Mississippi summer's day head off to the woods and then to the quarry which contains a pool of colle
    ...more

  • Jim Ringel

    Tiffany Quay Tyson’s The Past is Never begins as a mystery about a child’s disappearance, grows into an indictment of racism and the hatred and despair it weaves through a society, and then blossoms into full redemption. The book is a dark journey of the soul that illuminates into a blessed ending.

    The missing child, Pansy, is the youngest of three children in a rural Mississippi family. The father is a gadfly, never at home, leaving the children in the care of their overworked momma. One day, Pa
    ...more