Read The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century by Kirk W. Johnson Online

The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at Londons Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwins obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skinssome collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwins, Alfred Russel Wallace, whod risked everything to gather themand escaped into the darkness.Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one mans relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and mans destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature....

Title : The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century Kirk Wallace Johnson on FREE shipping on qualifying offers The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural Visit the post for A bsorbingthough it s non fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller.NPR s FRESH AIR The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural A rollicking true crime adventure and a thought provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the NPR coverage of The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century by Kirk Wallace Johnson News, author interviews, critics picks International Trade Portal Login Site Maintenance We are currently carrying out maintenance on the International Trade Portal We apologise if you are experiencing any issues with the site. Indian River County Library System The way the light bends Jensen, Cordelia People like us Mele, Dana Orphan monster spy Killeen, Matt Defy the worlds Gray, Claudia The case for Jamie Authors Experts The Dennis Prager Show Dennis talks to Kirk Johnson, journalist and historian His new book is The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century The most bizarre museum heist ever The Spectator The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession and the Natural History Heist of the Century Kirk Wallace Johnson Best Sellers in Travel About Best Sellers in Travel These lists, updated hourly, contain bestselling items Here you can discover the best Travel in Best Sellers, and find the top The Dennis Prager Show One of America s most Fiercely independent, Prager s opinions, intellect, and integrity have influenced millions of lives through books, lectures, and broadcasts.

The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century Reviews

  • Kristen Beverly

    This is such a weird but fantastic book. I can’t tell you how many times I thought, i mean, we’re talking about feathers, right? Feathers? Aren’t there bigger issues going on in the world right now? But it sucks you in & somehow you find yourself thinking, what happened to those feathers? Where did they go? What did Edwin do with them? So crazy how it twists your mind into actually caring about some feathers and what happened to them. :)

  • Bonny

    I've fished, tried to cast with my son's fly-fishing rod, and admired some of the flies that he has tied, but I never imagined I could be so captivated by the story of a young man so obsessed with Victorian salmon-fly tying that he would resort to stealing hundreds of rare and exotic bird feathers and skins from the Tring Natural History Museum.

    Truth really is stranger than fiction in The Feather Thief, and Kirk Johnson has written this weirdly fascinating story so well that I couldn't help but
    ...more

  • Jo Barton

    This book really took me by surprise as I had no idea that bird feathers were such a valuable commodity, and, as such, are open to thievery on really a grand scale. That's just what happened in the summer of 2009 when twenty year old musician, Edward Rist broke into the Natural History Museum at Tring in Hertfordshire and stole a huge assortment of wild bird specimens which had been collected centuries before by some of the very first naturalists.

    I expected the book to mainly concentrate on this
    ...more

  • Kelly Tarr

    The Feather Thief is about one man's obsession with creating "authentic" Victorian fishing flies (colorful lures), and how that obsession leads him to rob an outpost of the British Natural History Museum in pursuit of feathers from exotic birds. If the story sounds too far-fetched, its because truth is always stranger than fiction. The book does a great job of hooking the reader and providing a wide-ranging variety of context; from the history of the globe-trotting Victorian naturalists who coll ...more

  • KC

    This is the truly amazing story of how a twenty year old American flute prodigy pulled off an unbelievable museum heist of rare and exotic bird skins and feathers. Edwin Risk loved music but also was quite enthralled in the world of fly fish tying. He spent hours perfecting his craft and while still a young teenager, became a master tier within the competitive and elusive world. In 2009 while studying at London's Royal Academy of Music, Edwin began to put forth a plan to steal rare bird specimen ...more

  • Jerrie (redwritinghood)

    I was absolutely captivated by this book! Who knew there was this obsessive group who made salmon fishing ties using the feathers of endangered birds? Amazingly, they often don’t even fish with them and the salmon themselves don’t really care what’s on the tie. For many, it is an art form and an obsession so strong they commit burglary to feed it. This was a great look at wildlife research and a strange subculture at odds with it.

  • Cj Zawacki

    A hobby that has a dark side, where obsession takes over the beauty of the creations. The true story of a young mans robbery of the British Muesum of Natural History's for birds to rare bird feathers for fly-tying. These birds were dated from 150 years earlier that gave us a important part of the Theroy of Natural Selection by Darwin and Wallace. Saved birds from the bombing of WWII, were moved into the Tring Museum. protected for scientific studies, until a young man broke in the take trays of ...more

  • Jeimy

    This was a fascinating look into the world of salmon fly-tying. It tells the story of a young savant and how his obsession with recreating classic lures led his to steal birds from the largest museum collection in England. The author became obsessed with the case and decided to hunt down some of the missing birds. He writes about how he first found out about this case; the thief's life, the events leading up to the heist, and its aftermath; and the author's involvement after the case was officia ...more