Read Beware the Past by Joy Ellis Online

Beware the Past

A stunning new standalone crime thriller from #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis with a totally shocking conclusion. Discover the author everyones talking about. ONE TERRIBLE CASE ALWAYS HAUNTED DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD. NOW MANY YEARS LATER, THE KILLER SEEMS TO BE BACK. AND THIS TIME HES AFTER MATT. When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught. Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. Its of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place. More photos arrive, relating to the historic murders, as well as intimate pictures of Matts very secret private life. A KILLER WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DESTROY A DETECTIVE. Then another murder happens, with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat determined to ruin Matts life and reputation? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective. In an absolutely breathtaking conclusion, Matt and his team race against time to stop a vicious killer who knows no limits. WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT BEWARE THE PAST I think I forgot to breathe every now and then while I was reading and really begrudged having to put the book down. Barbara A simply brilliant book, so many twists and turns, I had no idea what to expect at any time. Janet The suspense starts on Page 1 and continues through the twists and turns until the very surprising ending. Linda Strong OMG, this book was fantastic I absolutely loved it. I was gripped from the first page but as the tension and suspense mounted throughout the book it just got better and better and that ending, well just WOW! Dawn Jones Gripping from beginning to end. Olga Without doubt Joy Ellis' best yet, this from someone who has read all of the Ellis novels. Ron Full of suspense, many clues and leads that only lead to dead-ends. Interesting characters with a past and buried secrets. Missmesmerized The Setting England's rural fenland is a strange place, with its never-ending fields, winding tracks, and long straight droves (the old livestock routes) that lead to nowhere. The lonely lanes are flanked either side by deep drainage ditches and are, for a good part of the year, filled with tall, whispering reeds. Closer to the Wash, high seabanks form a barrier between river and marsh, and the richly fertile soil of the drained land. But when the mists come down, as they so often do, perspective is destroyed and all sense of direction lost, and then the fens become a rather frightening place of mystery and danger. Somewhere that you do not want to be at night. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell. ALSO BY JOY ELLIS THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS Book 3: HUNTED ON...

Title : Beware the Past
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 369 pages
Url Type : Home » Beware » Beware the Past

Russia s Blast from the Past Beware the Tu Bear At first glance, the Russian Tu Bear strategic bomber looks like a year old flying anachronism, a Cold War leftover that has outlived its usefulness in a Working past Beware this Canada Pension Plan A little known CPP quirk underscores a crucial reason to not delay payments until the age of Buyer Beware FRENCH BULLDOG CLUB OF ENGLAND BEWARE IF YOU SEE ADVERTS LIKE THESE For Sale Rare colours, Blue, Blue Pied, Blue Fawn, Slate, Lilac etc There is nothing rare or unusual about any of the Beware Imitations WaterPur Beware Of Imitations The WaterPur CCI Ca Cartridge is supplied as original equipment in approximately different brands of RV s Several different websites Beware the Nice Ones TV Tropes The Beware the Nice Ones trope as used in popular culture Sometimes, trying to Break the Cutie has consequences Sometimes, the nicest person in the story Beware the scammers who claim to be from TalkTalk Beware the scammers who claim to be from TalkTalk Listen to the call that reveals fraudsters dirty tricks Fraudster tries to convince our reporter to let him take Beware of the Con Artist Straight Shooter.Net Often times we think of con artists as preying on the elderly because they can be mentally disoriented and susceptible to the attention and concern of a stranger. LITERARY AGENTS SFWA Introduction Dishonest Agents Amateur, Marginal, and Incompetent Agents Telling Questionable From Reputable Agents Who Are Also Publishers Additional Cautions Writer Beware s Small Presses page SFWA Issues to Consider Before Submitting Evaluating a Small Press Hybrid Publishers Vanity Publishers in Small Press Clothing Misleading Terminology Some Common Beware the Baby Bumbo Seat Mama OT Bumbo Seats are convenient for parents, but they are bad for baby s development and are unsafe Find out why, plus suggestions for better alternatives.

Beware the Past Reviews

  • Marleen

    Expecting a great British police procedural read, I was rather disenchanted with this one. Joy Ellis is an unknown to me, so I gave it a go. Unfortunately, for me, there was simply too much cruelty and evil behavior to even be able to enjoy it. How can authors take pleasure in creating such hideous characters, and have them act out on the page – and not just for a small fraction of the book, but for pages on end. I’m so tired of books with this mindset.

    Please, give me stories with authentic and
    ...more

  • Susan Angela Wallace

    Beware the past by joy Ellis.

    Omg. An absolutely fantastic read with great characters. Dci matt ballard is on the hunt for a killer. But this killer has matt in his sight and he is playing a deadly game himself. Is he the killer from 25 years ago? I had my suspicion but it completely shocked me. Highly recommend this book. 5*.

  • Lisa Clift

    Oooh it's always good when you discover a new author, and last night I found Joy! This is an excellent murder mystery, with plenty of twists and double bluffs, and a flawed hero. Can't wait to dive into the rest of her books.

  • Joyce

    4 and 1 / 2 stars

    It is the 1990’s and DC Matthew Ballard is on a stakeout for drug dealers in Gibbet Fen when the dealers suddenly flee. Hastening over the bridge to see what was going on, Matt and his partner, DS Bill Morris discover the body of a young boy in the water. It makes number three in the string of killings.

    It’s now the present day and Matt Ballard is a DCI. He is six months away from retirement and receives a photograph in the mail. It is of the last crime scene of the murdered boy
    ...more

  • lesley Benrimoj

    Ten Stars!

    Its 2:45am and I've just finished this book! I would say its been one of the most exciting books I've read for a long time! I love joy Ellis novels and have to say this stand alone book is a cracker. I was reading to get to the end as was totally enthralled and engrossed in the story......its now finished and I'm exhausted. Great story.... Great book!!

  • Julie Simon

    If I could give this book 10 stars I would. Absolutely fantastic read.

  • Susan

    DCI Matt Ballard is taken to the brink when a past case comes back to haunt him, with new killings occurring twenty-five years later.

    A great read, a well-written mystery with some interesting characters, kept me interested right to the end.

    Received an Advanced Reader Copy

  • Annette

    I have read quite a few books by this author and in my opinion it's one of her best. It is the kind of book where you say to yourself just one more chapter and end up reading half a dozen. There has to be some violence in crime thrillers but Joy Ellis knows how to put in lots of detail without going over the top.